Okeechobee County, Florida

Okeechobee County, Florida was established in 1917.

It was named for Lake Okeechobee, meaning oka (water) and chobi (big).

Okeechobee County, Florida has a population of about 40,000.

The county seat is Okeechobee, Florida.

Lake Okeechobee, callled Lake O or The Big Lake is the second-largest freshwater lake.

Places to visit in Okeechobee County, Florida include The Okeechobee Battlefield, The Freedman-Raulerson House and Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park.

Cities and towns locate din Okeechobee County, Florida include Okeechobee, Cypress Quarters, Taylor Creek, Ancient Oaks, Lazy 7, Sunset Strip, Barber Quarters, Basinger, Basswood Estates, Dixie Ranch Acres, Fort Drum, Hilolo, Mildred, Sherman, Treasure Island, Upthegrove Beach and Whispering Pines.

For information about Okeechobee County, Florida,  please click here

Countywebsite.com ©2008